Reflecting on the Eighth Night

How many menorahs are there?

How many menorahs are there?

Yesterday one of my friends from high school and Sunday School, Calvin Rose, posted a photo on Facebook of his lit menorah. I loved how the eight candles plus the shamash were reflected in the window.

Hey, thought I! I’ve never taken a pic like that in all these years of trying something new every Chanukah. It was time . . . especially with it being the eighth night. Otherwise, I’d have to wait until next year, perish the thought.

So I placed a TV tray by the window in the dining room and moved the menurkey to it. Lit the candles as I chanted the prayer and then picked up my Nikon D700.

Notice something colorful in the background?

Notice something colorful in the background?

After I lamented not having one big, solid window, I snapped and then checked the result. What a surprise! Thanks to my neighbor Tony, his multicolored Christmas lights gave me some sweet accidental bokeh.

Bokeh front and back

Bokeh front and back

Naturally, I thoroughly enjoyed finishing off the holiday with my very own reflective (low) light show.

Focusing on Tony’s lights

Focusing on Tony’s lights

Hope Calvin comes up with another great idea for me to steal try next year!

Leave a Reply

