Long-Time Logger

My new running log

My new running log

Today is more than just Monday, December 30. More than just two days before the end of one year and the beginning of another.

In addition, today is the start of a new running log. My 36th one, to be exact. Hold your applause, please!

I’m finishing up this year’s log still.

I’m still finishing up this year’s log, too (it’s actually a planner with lots of my photos).

I’m not very organized with most things, but I do tend to be a tad obsessive when it comes to logging my mileage. My first “official” record book dates back to 1979 and was an old spiral notebook from my University of Illinois days. Since then my logs have run the gamut from notebooks to ones I desktop-published and printed to ones I’ve gotten free from “Runner’s World” to ones I’ve bought.

An obvious favorite

An obvious favorite

The log I’ve preferred is “The Complete Runner’s Day-by-Day Log and Calendar.” The first one was compiled by running guru Jim Fixx and published in 1979. As you can see from the photo, I’ve been a bit sporadic with my collection, but to me it’s really the best running log. Especially because it begins the week on a Monday, which is the way I think of my jogging/walking weeks (Monday through Sunday). Some logs are Sunday through Saturday, which seems so odd to me, probably because big races are on Sundays (like the upcoming Aramco Half Marathon).

I asked for the log for Christmas (I’ve loved the Blurb planner that I made for 2013, but without a spiral, it’s impossible to write neatly in, and that really bugs me). My older son, Jake, bought it for me. When I asked him to write me words of wisdom and sign it, this is what he penned:

Always love a quote from Toy Story (2)!

Always love a quote from “Toy Story” (2)!

Hopefully, those wise words will spur me on in 2014!

Leave a Reply

