Excavation Update

Believe it or not, this looked worse.

Believe it or not, this looked worse.

When I decided to cut down from five to three blog posts a week, I wrote that I planned to spend some of those two nonwriting days decluttering and organizing. I’m sure that you’ve spent many sleepless nights wondering about my progress. Right?

I’m chagrined . . . but not at all surprised . . . to report that the results definitely are mixed. My biggest project so far has been decluttering the comfy, red chair in my office . . . for at least the third time (oy!). Yes, it’s the proverbial treadmill of my small space. It’s just too easy to throw something on it just for a day. Until all those items pile up for far too many months.

Shredding, recycling, and need-to-organize piles are on my office floor.

Shredding, recycling, and need-to-organize piles are on my office floor.

Working on the chair has been akin to an archeological dig. As I unearth layers, it’s like strolling through the eras of my life. There are lots of photos of the boys from back in the day when I actually made prints (aka pre-digital cameras). Piles of papers from as early as 2003 seem to mock me. Some actually need to be kept (in a place where I can readily find them), but most require either recycling or shredding.

A classic!

A classic!

I laughed out loud when I found the manual for my old pager. I remember buying it in 1997 thinking it was such cutting-edge technology. Glad I didn’t invest in beeper companies!

I didn’t hesitate to toss the manual into the recycling pile. After all, if I really need it, there’s an online version (which was easily found by our pal Eric). But it did make me wonder one thing:

Will I find the pager when I finish sifting through the rest of the stuff on the chair?!?

Leave a Reply

