Tiptoe Through the Wildflowers

Bluebonnets are showing up in the Houston area.

A lot can happen in seven days. In that short span, winter can become but a memory.

When I jogged in our neighboring community at the end of February, I was pleasantly surprised to see a few bluebonnets blooming. These always bring such a smile to my face . . . I just love wildflowers! Because Texas’ state flower was popping up early, I figured it would be awhile before I saw enough of them to keep me in a happy mood during most of my run.

Bluish-purple is ruling the landscape.

Fortunately, I was wrong! When I hit the path around the lake a mere week later (last Sunday), the beautiful bluish-purple flowers had multiplied! I couldn’t wait to finish my workout and get home to grab my Nikon dSLR and Nikon 105mm macro lens.

Wildflowers form a colorful mosiac.

But the bluebonnets weren’t the only wildflowers in the house. Multi-colored flora stood together in patches nearby.

Purple and yellow flowers combine.

I’m not sure what kind of wildflower they are.

A dark pink variety

I just know that there were plenty of them . . .

A lighter pink set

. . . and they came in the prettiest colors.

A lovely shade of purple

What a nice addition to the bluebonnets! I’m looking forward to seeing these wildflowers and more during my runs the next couple months. I’m sure they won’t mind me coming back every week to snap more photos.

Oh oh!

But this little guy might!

5 responses to “Tiptoe Through the Wildflowers

  1. Stunning! I am as green with envy as the leaves of those lovely flowers.

  2. Pingback: Saturday Show & Tell – Texas Wildflowers « Mental Mosaic

  3. Hi Susan, Lovely photos! No bluebonnets here in north Texas, yet. I linked to you in my blog carnival post today, since the theme is Texas Wildflowers. Couldn’t find any contact info on your site, so I’m telling you via blog comment. Nice to ‘meet’ you. I’ll be back! 🙂 ~Tui

Leave a comment