Daily Archives: August 22, 2011

Gingerly Returning Back to High School . . . For Now

For the first time in 12 years, I didn’t snap a photo of my younger son on his first day of school. He was just too anxious about returning for his high school junior year after his long absence, and I didn’t want to add to his stress. I figured I could bring out the big Nikon after classes.

Judging from how he reacted overnight and this morning, I’ve already started researching alternative ways for him to finish his high school degree. As much as I’d love for him to continue at our local high school, I don’t want him to be uncomfortable and miserable. If my square peg can’t fit into the round hole of public education, then we’ll find the square hole that suits him.

Thanks for all your good thoughts as my #2 son travels on his sometimes-difficult journey.