Daily Archives: April 24, 2009

Photo Friday: Natural Framing

alt-7517-framed-1

When you’re composing your photos, be sure to check your background for more than just branches, signs, and lamps that can awkwardly protrude from your subject’s head. Look for natural frames that can make for more-interesting compositions.

In the photo above, the #1 son almost looks like he’s in jail, as I’ve framed him in my office’s french door (please ignore all that background clutter!). I think it makes for a better photo than just one of him sitting at the computer.

Framing the #2 son putting

Framing the #2 son putting

It’s easy to find natural frames outdoors. When I saw the #2 son lining up his putt among the trees, I moved to my left, so they could frame him. Those trees also add nice context to the photo.

Randy tees off

Randy tees off

Here our wild disc golf buddy Randy is teeing off. I’m so glad that the tournament organizers made the tee box area a natural frame! It adds to the photo’s inherent interest and helps to contain the action.

framing the #1 son as he tees off

Framing the #1 son as he tees off

I snapped the above photo of the #1 son rearing back to tee off with an overhand shot from where the basket is located. I really liked how the foliage framed the action. Be sure to move around to get the best photo possible (sometimes one step to the right or left makes a big difference in telling a better story) and don’t be afraid to crop in Photoshop to bring out a natural frame. All these photos were cropped to enhance the framing.

berry nice

Berry nice!

Don’t forget to check for natural frames when photographing inanimate objects, like flowers and berries. People aren’t the only subjects suitable for framing!